Foreign nationals may obtain tourist visas if they hold passports or travel documents valid for more than six months for purposes of sightseeing, business, family visits, study or training, medical treatment, or other legitimate activities. 

90-day visa-exempt stay – 54 Countries
Asia Australia Israel Japan Republic of Korea Marshall Islands New Zealand
Palau Tuvalu        
Americas Canada Chile Guatemala Haiti Honduras Nicaragua
Paraguay U.S.A.        
Europe Andorra Austria Belgium Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus
Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Germany
Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia
Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Monaco Netherlands
North Macedonia Norway Poland Portugal Romania San Marino
Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland U.K.
Vatican City State          
Africa Eswatini          
30-day visa-exempt stay – 8 Countries
Asia Malaysia Nauru Singapore      
Americas Belize Dominican Republic Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines  
14-day visa-exempt stay – 3 Countries
Asia Brunei Philippines Thailand      


  1. A passport with remaining validity of at least six months as of the date of entry
    • Visa-exempt entry only applies to foreign visitors holding formal passports (i.e., ordinary, official/service and diplomatic passports). Those holding emergency, temporary, or other informal passports or travel documents are ineligible, with the exception of those holding a Brunei Certificate of Identity.
    • Holders of Belizean, Eswatini, Nauru, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucian and Tuvalu Passports with place of birth recorded on the passport data page as : Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Nigeria, Pakistan, the People's Republic of China, Syria and Yemen are ineligible for the visa exemption. Holders of Honduran passport with "place of birth" recorded on the passport data page as the People's Republic of China are also ineligible for the visa exemption.
    • A national of the Republic of the Marshall Islands” shall mean any person who holds the nationality of the Republic of the Marshall Islands and is confined to the following categories:(1) a person who acquires the citizenship of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands at birth before the effective date of the Constitution of the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and has become and remains a citizen of the Republic of the Marshall Islands; or (2) a person who acquires the citizenship of the Republic of the Marshall Islands at birth, on or after the effective date of the Constitution of the Republic of the Marshall Islands.
    • USA nationals who possess a,including emergency passports,valid for the intended period of stay are eligible for visa-exempt entry.
    • Japan nationals who possess a passport valid for the intended period of stay are eligible for visa-exempt entry.
    • Holder of emergency or temporary passport (except those from the United States of America) should apply for a visa at an ROC overseas mission, or a landing visa after arriving in the ROC(Landing visa is temporarily suspending).
  2. A confirmed return air/sea ticket or air/sea ticket and a visa for the next destination, and a confirmed seat reservation for departure flight.
  3. Not determined by immigration officers at ports of entry in the ROC to be otherwise ineligible.
  4. Holders of Brunei, Philippines and Thailand passports must have: A proof of accommodation (hotel) booking, host / sponsor's contact information and sufficient travel funds.
  5. Brunei, the Philippines and Thailand vessel/aircraft crew members or service personnel intending to board to report for duty are ineligible for the visa-free entry.

—   eVisa

An eVisa is an official document issued electronically by ROC overseas missions that allows foreign nationals to enter and travel in Taiwan. To obtain an eVisa, applicants must submit relevant personal information and pay the required fee by credit card. The eVisa will be issued after the submitted information has been assessed and found to meet relevant criteria.

Applicant qualifications:

1.  Nationals of the following countries are eligible for an eVisa when they meet relevant criteria: Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Colombia, Dominica, Ecuador, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Mauritius, Montenegro, Oman, Panama, Peru, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Solomon Islands, Türkiye, and United Arab Emirates.

2.  Nationals from all foreign countries who are invited to attend international conferences, sporting events, trade fairs or other activities in Taiwan organized, co-organized or sponsored by ROC central government agencies are also eligible for an eVisa.


Foreign nationals seeking to apply for an eVisa to participate in international conferences held in Taiwan may contact with the event's organizer in Taiwan. The event's organizer may apply for an Ecode which is required for eVisa online applications by sending an official document with relevant information to the Bureau of Foreign Trade, Ministry of Economic Affairs (MOEA) one month prior to the arrival date.

When an application is approved, the event's organizer will get an Ecode and it should be passed to the applicant. The applicant uses the Ecode in eVisa online application. When an eVisa application has been approved, the applicant will receive an email confirmation. The applicant must print out the eVisa and take it and an English recommendation letter from the event’s organizer to enter Taiwan.

For all inquiries of the VISA application, please contact the Ms. Jennifer Chen at